Archinect
anchor

job interview tomorrow - sealed deal - help me run the numbers

leander

So,

I pretty much have this job in the bag. My last firm was paying me 55k + excellent benefits (MDV) + small annual bonus.

This was my salary when hired Ocotber 2006. If I am going to be picky, I should ask for 58-60k. I graduated in 2003, and I admit I was lucky to get 55.

SO. Tomorrow I am meeting with a one man show. He needs to bring in a second person. He has been in business for over 20 years, and he is doing quite well. In Washington state, even if you are a salary employee your employer is required to pay time and a half for any hours after 40 each week (or compensate with time off).

So...I am also concerned about insurance. Let's say I ask him to pay my COBRA premium until November 2008, which is about 350 a month. I ask him for 26 an hour, keep it hourly, no salary.

OR - do I ask for 60k salary, no insurance and minimum 40 hour work week with paid overtime, not compensated with time off?

I need some help processing this one. I want the job. I want to start Monday, and I damn sure want to make some money because I have outrageous bills now. I am making the decision to work for a tiny firm because I feel it benefits me one of two ways.

1. I stay for a while, and I am offered a partenership.
2. I am groomed to be a small business owner, and will have been paid well to learn every aspect of the business.

I definitely do not want to work for a large firm. I hate being typecast into a single role...then waiting years to move up the ladder. I also hate the bs meetings and company crap.

Anyway, advice on the money would be cool.

Later guys!

Nov 16, 07 10:53 pm
psycho-mullet

Is 30/hour, no insurance an option?

Also I think you want to check on the overtime. The department of labor has a list of professions who are exempt from overtime and minimum wage, architects fit the description. But I could be wrong as there is some variation from state to state.