Archinect
anchor

Prefab Warehouse w/Interior Build-Out?

ArchiNectar

So, I get a call from a potential Client today...Fantastic = More money!
They own a Factory in a Chicago Suburb which has alot of adjacent vacant land onto which they would like to expand their operations.
They want to build a simple 9000 SF prefabricated/pre-engineered metal warehouse, and within one corner locate a couple of offices, bathrooms, kitchenette, and mezzanine conference room above....Simple enough, I've done it a few times before, but never independently and have no idea where to begin with structuring a fee. It would be for Architectural services only - Permit/construction drawings, Permit corrections (if necessary), shop drawing review with CA a line item option hourly. MEP by others, Structural by Prefabricator....
I guess what I am asking is whether anyone has done anything similar, and what the fee was roughly?
P.S. I am an Archinect veteran and have changed my name for anonymity...
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Nov 12, 07 6:45 pm
ArchiNectar

bump..anyone? Or do we all do single-family homes on wooded sites for wealthy clients?

Nov 13, 07 7:47 am  · 
 · 

sounds like you're already there. you could either:

1) write a proposal for hourly not-to-exceed.

2) figure out what you would normally do with all the normal consultants, discount their fees since their part will be design/build but add back in a percentage for your coordination of their work.

like any project, you just have to try to anticipate how much time you'll have in it. just because you don't have to shepherd the mep and structural consultants throughout the project doesn't mean your work with the people doing that work won't be about the same.

if you're looking for a straight %age: it ain't that easy.

Nov 13, 07 8:03 am  · 
 · 

hello archinect veteran...