Archinect
anchor

What are architects immediately critical of when entering a building?

vanexel711

Hi everyone,

I'm currently writing a film where an architect has a central role, and I've been doing my best to learn about the profession. It's been quite interesting, and I've really enjoyed it. 

I hope you don't mind me on this forum. I wanted to make this character as "true" as I possibly could without being an architect myself. So I hoped I could occasionally ask a general question about the profession here on this forum, when needed. 

With that out of the way, here's my question!

One of the personality traits of the character is his constant "pointing out" of possible faults in any building he enters. He'll always tap his spouse or friend, and point out what's wrong with a building they're currently in. 

The character's philosophy is very "function over fashion", so I'm trying to make him critical of buildings that lean too heavily on aesthetics (especially in places of business or buildings with specific purposes like hospitals). 

In general, what do you think this character would be hyper-critical of when entering a building? 

Any answers are appreciated. Thanks again. 

- Van

Feb 12, 13 10:58 pm
Build quality
Feb 12, 13 11:06 pm  · 
 · 
dia

entry-mat detailing....

Feb 12, 13 11:26 pm  · 
 · 
boy in a well

yeah, all those function over aesthetics types are whiny little bitches.

Feb 12, 13 11:28 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

I myself have bitched about hard-to-find entrances, slow revolving doors, very tight/small entry areas, and ugly floor finishes, to name just a few.

Can I be in your movie?

;-]

Feb 13, 13 12:02 am  · 
 · 
ark1t3kt
observant

Actually, the building's massing and solid/void relationships seen in the exterior is what I'm most critical of.

Inside:

- dark colors (determined by current trends) and/or poorly illuminated spaces

- weird bright colors like red, blue, and green, which are prominent and are too loud