Archinect
anchor

suggestions for portfolio beefing while doing non-arch job

goodtastingsteak

i graduated this past may with a b.arts with a maj in architecture (4yr prog) and decided to take a detour in my career path and go to japan for a year or 2 and teach english.

i still intend to go into architecture, hopefully get a job first for a couple of years before going to graduate school, but i don't want my most recent work 2 years from now to be projects from my sr yr of college. recently, i've just been sketching and am planning on entering a competition (for the first time) at some point, but i was just wondering if anyone here had any suggestions for a noob like me.

and i hope 3d modeling programs don't completely change in these next 2 years or i'll be screwed

thanks!

Nov 3, 07 12:28 pm
goodtastingsteak

or not even for portfolio beefing - just learning since i have the luxury of lots of free time once again

Nov 3, 07 12:32 pm  · 
 · 
manamana

design furniture and do shop drawings for them. make really really pretty technical drawings and hone your ability to communicate details effectively.

Nov 3, 07 1:27 pm  · 
 · 
SDR

Nice advice. Ditto fantasy architectural projects -- this could be the last block of time you'll have for many years, to explore your own vocabulary and commit ideas to paper.

Nov 3, 07 2:24 pm  · 
 · 
sunsetsam

Well lets see, I am making my portfolio for USC, and even though I am at a community College, I am comming up with my own designs, (actually one of my projects is furniture design) Also, look at other school projects and mimic them(but your own design/ideas of course).

Aren't you going to use some of your stuff from undergrad?

Nov 4, 07 5:00 pm  · 
 · 
grid

travel in japan - take pictures, sketch, learn from what you see.

Nov 4, 07 6:58 pm  · 
 · 
WtfWtfWtf™

I think you might have a red meat fetish.