Archinect
anchor

U.Mich vs U.Va undergrad

rizoezendo

Hi Everyone!

I am an international student and I am studying in a community college in California. I really love architecture and I am planning to transfer to a 4-year arch program. I am very sure that I will go for M.Arch in the future, so that I am looking for schools that have a strong undergrad pre-arch program that could allow me to equip myself well in this field.

And that's the problem...I have no way to know about those 4-year programs(except in this forum), as all the rankings/reports only talks about 5-year program or M.Arch. Can anyone lists the schools that offer great 4-year arch programs?

I have some target schools but I don't know anything about them...
what I have in mind now is UCLA, U.Mich, U.Va and Georgia Tech

UCLA's program is new (it would be the 2nd year in fall08) and I can't find anyone to tell me anything about it. Is it good?

Also...please compare U.Va and U.Mich...I know they are both extremely competitive, but what is the difference between them? Like...in style, area focus, quality of prof.s etc.

and if there are any other suggestions please tell.....really need help!

thanks!

Oct 31, 07 4:08 am
brer

One thing to know about Michigan's undergrad program is that it is 2 years and not 4. You can transfer into the program after 2 years at another school if you have the required classes taken care of. From what I remember, its not particularly competitive and they admit over 100 students per year in the undergrad program.

Oct 31, 07 11:26 am  · 
 · 
le bossman

it is competitive to be admitted to umich out of high school, but once you are in it isn't that competitive. this is what differs from other programs. probably there are only 3 or 4 students in ugrad there who did an associates degree at another school. its pretty selective in that regard. also, michigan is not the same program that it was 15 years ago; not even the same program that it was 5 years ago.