Archinect
anchor

What can a 4th Year Intern Expect for Salary?-AIA compensation Report? Anyone?

coolfootluke

I just asked my boss for a raise and basiclly all he could give was $33,500. per year. I feel like I'm worth a lot more than that. Am I wrong? Does anyone have access to latest AIA Compensation Report. I'm a fourth year intern in the Milwaukee area, I have a BS in Architecture and I am unlicensed. If anybody could help me out it would be greatly appreciated.

Oct 24, 07 2:37 pm
mdler

go work at McD's for $33,500 a yr

Oct 24, 07 2:43 pm  · 
 · 
n_

You are worth more than that.

Oct 24, 07 2:54 pm  · 
 · 
quizzical

In the 2005 AIA Compensation Survey, the median for an Architect I / Designer I in the Milwaukee Metro Area was $42,500 - that would be about $46,500 (+/-) in 2007 dollars.

For Wisconsin as a whole, the survey median was $39,000 in 2005.

Architect I /designer I = Recently licensed architect or nonregistered graduate with 3–5 years of experience; responsible for particular parts of a project within parameters set by others.

I will say that your non-professional degree (I use the phrase kindly) may be seen by your employer as a constraint on what they might be willing to pay -- the survey numbers are, I believe, focused on individuals holding a professional degree from an accredited school.

The survey aside (unless you think yourself a commodity) what you are worth is closely related to what you are able to contribute. You may be "worth" more than (or less than) the number suggested by the survey. You have to tie your compensation to a concrete assessment of what you are contributing.

Oct 24, 07 3:28 pm  · 
 · 
coolfootluke

I do love dogs.............

Oct 24, 07 3:33 pm  · 
 · 
dml955i

well, the world needs ditchdiggers too!

Oct 24, 07 3:35 pm  · 
 · 
Chase Dammtor

lukie, who do you work for?

Oct 24, 07 3:37 pm  · 
 · 
aquapura