Archinect
anchor

How long to work before quiting?

So, I'm sure this has been brought up before in discussion but it's something that I would like an opinion on.

My situation: I'm a recent MArch Grad and I've been working for a Starchitect office for about 5 months now. Prior to graduating I worked part time during school with a couple firms so I have some experience built up. I enjoy the work that is going on in the office because, well, it's a celebitry architect and its badass work but I dont feel that in the long run I'll be getting the necessary experience I would like in order to become a more well-rounded architect. It seems they can and do pigeon-hole any early position for the sake of mass production. The main goal I'm after right now is finishing IDP and I'm like half done but am not sure if I'll be able to accomplish what I would like in a timely manner.

My Question: How long is long enough to deal with the BS of a job like this even though it's a starchitect atmosphere? How bad does it look to only work at a place with alot of recognition for only like 1 year or so. Is a year too short? Any suggestions?

Oct 23, 07 2:19 pm

a year should be fine. 5 mos is probably ok if you tell your next interviewer exactly the reasons you shared here.

Oct 23, 07 2:21 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac

I got offered a job after working a similar gig after 3 weeks. Scared my current employer into not treating me like a total bitch and actually paying me properly.

Oct 23, 07 2:27 pm  · 
 · 
brian buchalski

don't "quit"...rather, i'd suggest setting goals for yourself and after acheiving them move onto your next challenge (whether it's with the same employer or not)

if you approach your career with some semblance of a plan then you are much more likely to be respected. if, however, you simply quit everytime you get tired with the shit that you're working on, then it's much easier for others to sniff out your lack of ambition. it's hard to take quitters seriously.