Archinect
anchor

Can I start recording IDP training units?

archMONSTER

I graduated from ASU last semester (Fall ’07) with a BSD which is a 4 year PRE-professional degree. I decided to take a year off in between my graduate studies before I apply back to ASU to get my professional degree. So as of right now I am currently working and about to fill out my employment verification form to start accumulating IDP credits. However I came across this on the IDP website:

"NCARB conditions specify that no training units may be earned prior to satisfactory completion of:
1. three years in an NAAB- or CACB-accredited professional degree program.

2. the third year of a four-year pre-professional degree program in architecture accepted for direct entry to an NAAB- or CACB-accredited professional degree program;

3. one year in an NAAB- or CACB-accredited Master of Architecture degree program for interns with undergraduate degrees in another discipline

4. 96 semester credit hours as evaluated by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) in accordance with NCARB's Education Requirement, of which no more than 60 hours can be in the general education subject area."

Also another question is that I heard the state of New York does not accept experience earned while you are enrolled as a full time student. Does that apply in the state of Arizona? Where can I access that information because I would like to work part time through my graduate studies.

Thanks!!

Oct 14, 07 3:31 pm
Gloominati

Yes, you can start counting experience if you graduated from a 4-year pre-professional architecture major.

Yes, you can't count experience earned while enrolled as a student (unless enrolled less than half time) in New York.
I don't think that Arizona has any such restriction - in fact isn't Arizona the last remaining state with some IDP-alternative still in place? Call the Arizona board for any clarification of state-specific policies.

Oct 14, 07 6:18 pm  · 
 · 
archMONSTER