Archinect
anchor

When IDP hours start in New York State

publicmoon

I was about to apply for IDP and retro-actively collect signatures for working experience. When can I consider the start date for working hours that count towards IDP in the state of New York? I have a 4 year pre-professional degree from the University of Michigan's architecture school from 1998 and a MArch from Harvard's design school in 2001.

I’ve read some forum letters saying you can start after your third year of your pre-professional or after your first year of professional Master’s degree. At Michigan, the four year program B.S. in Arch is actually a two year program (you apply to the architecture school after two years of undergrad). In any case, it seems like I could begin to get signatures for work the summer after I graduated from undergrad. I’ve written emails to the New York state board asking the same thing and received strange replies. Such as:

“Please contact NCARB to determine whether or not you are eligible to apply to the IDP program directly. If you are not, and need a memo from NYS, you will need to send us the following information:

- name

- full mailing address

- beginning and ending dates (mm/yyyy) of your education, name of the university, location, degrees earned, dates awarded (mm/yyyy).

- beginning and ending dates (mm/yyyy) of your experience, name(s) of the firm(s), location(s) of the firm(s), nature of the firm(s), title of each supervisor (indicate whether a licensed architect if applicable), and brief description of your job duties.”

AND

“If you are eligible to enter the IDP program directly, NCARB will establish experience acceptance criteria. Although NYS requires completion of the IDP program as one of the requirements for exam eligibility, it is NCARB's program. Please note that experience which is acceptable toward IDP may or may not be acceptable toward NYS requirements.”