Archinect
anchor

I worked for 4 years-what should my portfolio look like?

deenajean28

Hi all, I have been working for the past 4 years since I graduated from school in 2007, and I am wondering what should the portfolio of a working professional look like. The last portfolio I did was before I graduated and I remember spending an extreme amount making sure the portfolio was nicely designed and also created individual ones to hand to employers. 

Since I have been employed for 4 years do I need to include the work from school or will it be mostly the work I was doing in the office? And also do graphics matter this time around? If I am doing an interview do I just bring a set of drawings for a project that I worked on? My general question is how do professionals present the work they have done outside of school?

If anybody could provide examples or links to examples that would be great. Thank you

May 14, 11 12:48 pm
outthere

I dont want to post my portfolio but I think mine is done pretty well.  I wouldn't put school work in there unless there's something your lacking in pro practice that you think should be there (which might be the case).

Alot of it depends on what type of work youve done.  You want to be a right fit for the company your applying to.  I have a diversified portfolio with 4 or 5 solid projects that I spent alot of time on during my prof. career.  Each one either Civic, Educational, High rise residential, etc.  I then tailor it to the place I am applying.  So if the company does alot of high rise residential I will include those pages in my port., if not I might leave them out.

I would include one or 2 overall pictures of the project (either renders or built work).  A description of your role in the project.  Then some non-typical details you did.  Give a description and highlight interesting things about the project