Archinect
anchor

Starting Out

jae

Ok I'm new here. I'll start my first year in architecture school at Mississippi State University in a couple of days. I'm still learning about the basic architectural superstars like Frank Lloyd Wright, Louis Sullivan, and le Corbusei. What should I expect in the future? Who should i look to for inspiration? Show me some architects that i've never heard of...but need to hear of. Anything would be helpfull.

Thanks
Jae

Aug 16, 07 7:54 pm
mdler

if you stick to those three, you will be fine

Aug 16, 07 8:28 pm  · 
 · 
eastcoastarch03

oh yeah, fuck frank gehry

Aug 16, 07 8:31 pm  · 
 · 
Apurimac

just be sure to spell corbu's name right "Le Corbusier".

I almost applied to MSU, too rural for me though.

Aug 16, 07 8:31 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

seriously, though, just start looking around on the internet, in books, magazines, etc...find some stuff you like and some stuff you dont like

you will be learning plenty about architects and buildings in the very near future

Aug 16, 07 8:33 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

Kahn, Zumthor, Rem, Zaha, Mies, Bunshaft, KPF, ZGF, OMA, SOM...

Aug 16, 07 8:34 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

sam mockbee
alvar aalto
r.m. schindler
bobbi permanti

Aug 16, 07 8:35 pm  · 
 · 
eastcoastarch03

read read read, travel all you can on the weekends (i don't know whats in mississippi, but go for it), sketch till your hand is numb, talk to anyone and everyone in this field and never be afraid to ask questions. the best knowledge doesn't have to come from a classroom.

Aug 16, 07 8:36 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

john lautner, neutra, ain....

Aug 16, 07 8:40 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

dirnk drink drink, sleep all you can on the weekend, draft till your hand is numb, talk to anyone and everyone not in this field and never be afriad to ask a law student out. the best knowledge comes from the jobsite

Aug 16, 07 8:43 pm  · 
 · 
eastcoastarch03

lewis tsurumaki lewis
thom mayne

Aug 16, 07 8:44 pm  · 
 · 
mdler