Archinect
anchor

Speaking of CAD

outthere

speaking of CAD killing our profession

Im an intern and have only done hand drawing my first year of school. Even then I messed around with cad a little bit.

For the people (hesitant to say ppl) who have been around for the transition from hand drafting to CAD ...Im curious to know if the profession has changed at all interms of pressure on you to produce?!? ..i mean i have had 2 jobs working for architects where they just want everything done as quick and as accurate as possible. I dont blame the architects at all considering im sure there dealing with a shit load of pressure from the clients ...Im kind of assuming its always been like this.. but i feel i had to ask

Jul 31, 07 10:56 pm
vado retro

asses and elbows.

Jul 31, 07 11:00 pm  · 
 · 
binary

legs and trays

Aug 1, 07 12:27 am  · 
 · 
eastcoastarch03

we be production

Aug 1, 07 8:34 am  · 
 · 
dsc_arch

zub-zub

Aug 1, 07 9:29 am  · 
 · 

from my first job out of school: "don't think! draw!"

Aug 1, 07 9:44 am  · 
 · 
dsc_arch

the beatings will continue until the morale improves....

Aug 1, 07 10:05 am  · 
 · 
eastcoastarch03

all those who enter must surrender the booty

Aug 1, 07 10:38 am  · 
 · 
funkitecture

it has definitely changed the profession. people think cad makes it so architects can draw faster and get the project done faster but i have been having this conversation for years with professionals ranging from 30 to 55 years old and they all agree that in the end it is about the same. that means more pressure.
in big projects where you can easily duplicate work with cad, e.g. towers, cad is a great tool. if you are doing a house you might as well draw by hand.

Aug 3, 07 11:51 am  · 
 · 
funkitecture

oops, wasnt done with that post...here is the rest of it: