Archinect
anchor

Italian Architecture

Paopao

Hi guys,
I am an Italian student of architecture and I am interested in your opinion about Italy's contemporary architecture and academia. Can you name any of the contemporary architects? and most importantly how is it keeping up with the rest of the world? Do you have any direct experience of work for an Italian firm or any academic experience of the system in this country? Tell me all you can think about. I am interested in hearing from you.

Thanks
LoneDevil

Jul 22, 07 6:32 am
Apurimac

sadly, you don't hear much about the italy scene in the U.S. I saw some store designs that were mostly interiors and I was blown away. My opinion of this point of Italian architecture is because all the old stuff is so good its a pain in the ass to build anything new, but I have no clue how accurate it is I just figure that explains the lack of press it gets.

Jul 23, 07 1:06 am  · 
 · 
holz.box

outside of renzo...

massimiliano fuksas

in my opinion, it's overshadowed by the number of quality projects just north of the border in AT and CH as well as FR, DE & NL.
but i remember hearing that was more because it's near impossible to build in italy.

Jul 23, 07 2:51 am  · 
 · 
dia

Sorry,

Not alot is known about contemporary Italian architects. Asides from the obvious, the first names that spring to mind is Archea Associati and Antonio Citterio. However, I am in New Zealand, so a European-based person might have more of an idea.

I have always been intrigued by the fact that Italians dominate fashion, furniture and industrial design, are influential in automotive design, and their food culture has spread so completely, but you never hear about contemporary Italian architecture.

I met an Italian architecture student at MIT a few years ago, and she talked about the difficulties in designing within an ancient urban fabric, and within a huge unintelligible bureacracy.