Archinect
anchor

Michigan House

meow

I am currently working on the design of a house in a rural Michigan town located on lake Michigan. I have limited experience in residential work and actually never have had to personally get a land/site survey. I've just completed what you could say is the conceptual design phase and need to take the next step. The site itself, I know is going to pose a lot of challenges and I'm definitely going to need some kind of survey.
In order to take some steps forward and answers some questions I need some kind of drawing with topography. In rural areas is there some kind of database or resource of useful topo drawings for the scale of house? Or I'm I going to have to get a survey and/or consult with a civil engineer at this point in time? For anyone with southwest Michigan experience the house is in Pentwater, Mi on Lake Michigan. Thanks.

Jul 18, 07 5:06 pm
meow

I'm sure this is an obvious question for some, but I really have no clue.

Jul 18, 07 5:08 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

its your client's responsiblity to provide you with a plat of survey.

Jul 18, 07 5:10 pm  · 
 · 
meow

Vado Retro, Are you saying I need a survey now? Regardless of who's responsibility it is to get the survey.

Jul 18, 07 5:16 pm  · 
 · 
spark

Get a survey, its always worth the money.

Be sure they include utility information, adjacent property owner information, major trees/tree groupings, fences, existing structures, water edges, etc.

If you can approximately locate the house on the site, have them do 1 foot contours in that area. Two foot contours are probably sufficient otherwise.

If the project involves a septic system, get the surveyor or a civil engineer to do it. As an architect, you would spend a lot of time trying to figure it out, and its not very fun.

Jul 18, 07 5:17 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

will you be drawing cds later?

Jul 18, 07 5:18 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro