Archinect
anchor

I have a 4-year Degree, what are my job prospects?

aphorismal

Title says it all: I'm graduating soon, I have a 4-year non-professional degree, and 6 months of an internship under my belt.  I've seen maybe 5 job postings that I am qualified for in the last month - what am I to do?

Oct 31, 12 9:31 pm
kubo

Start by applying to these jobs. :)

Just spam every firm in your city, state, and whatever country you want to work in with your portfolio and CV.

Oct 31, 12 9:34 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

doesn't matter if you have a 4 year degree or 20 years of experience.. If your work sucks, no one will hire you. Hope that's not the case :)

Nov 1, 12 6:46 am  · 
 · 
snail

I think it depends on your school, your city, and your connections. Some of my undergrad. classmates did very well.

Nov 1, 12 6:57 am  · 
 · 
LITS4FormZ

Who you know gets you the job

What you know keeps you employed

Nov 1, 12 8:15 am  · 
 · 
IamGray

Ya, not sure I agree with all this "who you know stuff"....

I went to a school nobody's heard of in a city that nobody knows anything about and moved to another country (who's language I couldn't speak) armed with only my portfolio, an unaccredited bachelor degree, and a CV with no previous architecture experience and managed to find work.

I'm not trying to be boastful either. I certainly wasn't the best student in my class... I just want to say that it's not impossible. A strong portfolio, a CV highlighting your ability to handle new experiences/learn/adapt, and a mature, well written and targeted covering letter can actually go a long way.