Archinect
anchor

Unemployed due to wanting to continue my Education

Mc Taco

Hey Guys!

Okay so I just graduated from a 4 year architectural degree a few weeks ago. To keep it short, it was a life changing experience! Anyways I thought long and hard contemplating if I need a year off in between my graduate studies. I decided for it. So now that I’m a fresh grad with some intern experience I am looking for some employment. In the past 4 months I cannot find a job to save my life. Main reason? This question right here: “Are you going to go back to grad school after a year? Cause we are looking for someone to stay longer than a year.” I’ve gotten this question four times already, all at four different firms, and I don’t know if I should be honest anymore. Yes I want to go to graduate school in a year, but that’s not what they want to hear. Now this is a small firm that work on custom McMansions. It’s not my dream job… but in a year span there are a lot of projects that I would see designed and built… rather than working on projects that last 2-3 years as my last internship. My answer to this question recently consists of being undecided of grad school and than wandering of mentioning that I am currently registered with IDP and eventual would like to get my license working under the principals… but they seem to shrug their shoulders at that. It seems like they just want a draft monkeys who will never advance in their life. Yes I understand that I need to put my hours… better yet… YEARS in as a CAD monkey… I get that… but I want to better myself… not to be a slave laborer on someone else’s behalf and fortune for the rest of my life. Does this make sense to anyone? Obviously it doesn’t make sense to these employers. Anyways… what kind of advice do you guys have for me? Right now its looking like I will be going back to the place I interned last. It’s not the most desirable place to be, but the people there are friendly, nice, and are willing to work around my hours if I