Archinect
anchor

Libeskind's $12,000 chair

bowling_ball

As a furniture designer, I find this kind of crap infuriating. Libeskind, of whom I'm no fan, designs a 'secret' $12,000 chair for his renovation of the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto:

http://www.thestar.com/artsentertainment/article/211784

Libeskind describes it thusly: "Imagine you cut out a quarter of a cube at the corner. Then you use what is revealed through that cut as the bottom of the chair. Then the chair, shaped in a symmetrical way, rises in an unusual angle. And it rotates."

And it rotates, people! ROTATES!

May 9, 07 4:55 pm
mdler

it will probably suck as much as his building do

May 9, 07 4:59 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

if im gonna drom 12k on a chair...

May 9, 07 5:00 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

'drop'...maybe I should spend the 12k on spelling lessons

May 9, 07 5:00 pm  · 
 · 
sparch

so it rotates.
since chair rises in an unusual angle, it will be uncomfortable?

i wonder how much is mies' chair worth

May 9, 07 5:01 pm  · 
 · 
garpike

mdler beat me to it...

May 9, 07 5:01 pm  · 
 · 
garpike

Do you think Libeskind will whine and moan until someone buys it?

May 9, 07 5:02 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

for 12k, that chair best come with one hell of a lap dance

May 9, 07 5:11 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

hi garpike;)

May 9, 07 5:12 pm  · 
 · 
nambypambics

pix plz?

May 9, 07 5:26 pm  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

In the article linked above, it mentions that pics will probably be revealed later this afternoon.

May 9, 07 6:21 pm  · 
 · 
snooker

Lib pulled a Wright as far as I'm concerned.....Architects do not always make great furniture designers....then there is Mac the Knife....best ever Architect in designing furniture.

May 9, 07 6:26 pm  · 
 · 
Say No to Student Loans

Would you rather have a David Childs chair?

May 9, 07 6:28 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

it'll prolly make my guts itch.

May 9, 07 6:28 pm  · 
 · 
garpike