Archinect
anchor

Massacre at VT

med.

Hello All,

I'm currently a graduate thesis student at Virginia Tech (getting ready to defend). I'm watching much of the situation unfold. I was on my way to structures this morning (late as usual), and then I heard a series of loud noises as I was parking my car and getting ready to go to class. there is a lot of construction on campus so I thought it had to do with that. Then I heard screaming and yelling, then I saw people running. I really had no idea what was going on. But when I got to my building, it was closed. A police officer told me to get off of campus as soon as possible. He wouldn't elaborate.

Then I went to the architecture building where my studio is, and everyone was puzzled. We then were all asked to go to the assembly hall of the building because it had no windows and were on lockdown for a while. I was just working on my thesis and we were all told that about one or two people were shot. Then the unthinkable news was given to us that at least 25 people were killed. I just got word that it's even a greater number now. It has been a horrific day. Why us...

My thoughts and prayers are with the victims and their families.

Apr 16, 07 3:08 pm
Apurimac

our hearts i believe are with you mate

Apr 16, 07 3:10 pm  · 
 · 
med.

The building they keep refering to, Norris Hall (one of five engineering buildings on campus), is very close to Cowgill Hall and Burchard Hall where the architecture program is housed in.

All the architecture people seem to be okay. Just to let you know.

Apr 16, 07 3:13 pm  · 
 · 
+i

we're with ya archmed

Apr 16, 07 3:16 pm  · 
 · 

I'm very glad that you're all right. The other thread on this got derailed, so I'm glad there's somewhere else for any hokies out there to let us know they're ok.

Apr 16, 07 3:19 pm  · 
 · 
med.

Yeah, I saw that it got all crazy and political. I really appreciate your concern, rationalist.