Archinect
anchor

mies in chicago

danda

i'm an architecture student from belgium.
next week i'll be visiting chicago.

i was wondering, are there some less known projects by mies van der rohe in chicago?

he spent half his life in chicago, but i only find information on the well known mies buildings.

suggestions?

Apr 14, 07 4:12 pm
blah
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VDnE9qmeWVI
Apr 14, 07 4:30 pm  · 
 · 
danda

i'm from brussels.

but i was'nt asking for this movies.
something i already know.

Apr 14, 07 4:35 pm  · 
 · 
guppy

I'd call or go by the Chicago architecture foundation when you get into town. They are nice people and very helpful.

www.architecture.org

Apr 14, 07 5:13 pm  · 
 · 
wangsta

danda

of course theres his famous stuff:

860 880 Lakeshore Drive apartments
Farnsworth house (quite a bit of a drive outside of Chicago)
Federal Plaza (great example of his tower/pavillion style, and you get a bonus--Calder sculpture!)
The IIT campus, notably Crowne Hall (IIT school of architecture building)
The IBM tower at 330 N. Wabash (I work there! Mies died before its completion)

More obscure (I suppose) would be:

Residential tower ~ Fullerton and Clark
Residential towers at Diversey and Sheridan
(both of these are a grey aluminum skin rather than his typical black steel)
The Promontory Apartment buildings (not sure on the address, but a great example of early Mies tower design)
Lakepoint Tower (not Mies, but a direct translation of a tower proposed by Mies. very cool extruded 3-leaf clover form)

And of course there's a lot of Mies immitators or i guess you could call them followers. when i first moved to Chicago it took a while for me to figure out was was actually Mies and what was 'school of Mies'.

sure i'm forgetting plenty....but i hope this is a good start

Apr 14, 07 5:15 pm  · 
 · 
wangsta

sorry,

the Federal building is at Dearborn/Jackson (I believe)