Archinect
anchor

Age 34-35 too old to begin M.Arch?

mbooberalles

If I make the winter deadlines, I'll enroll Fall 2013 at age 34.  If I don't, then it's Fall 2014 at age 35.  Am I too old for this?

My undergrad degree is in classics and I have an MFA in painting.  I'm an artist.  My work is in shows and I teach at the college level.  Despite these degrees of success, I can't make a living and anyway, my interest has shifted from art to buildings, cities, and economics.  

I'm cognizant of the ideals of lifelong learning, following my heart, and using maturity as leverage.  But I'm also aware that after three years of the M.Arch, I'll be 37-38 - then interning at 40 with 20-something kids.  Will I be too old?  If so, in what ways?  How would I compensate for this?

Aug 19, 12 9:06 pm
chigurh

not too old, lots of people go back to school at that age.

As everybody knows, the profession is currently in shambles, so I would weigh the reality of that before you make a 100k commitment into a field with no jobs.

If you still decide to make the leap, the age difference dosen't really matter much, in fact, I think you might be at an advantage because the 20 somethings are rather unfocused in their first professional settings anyways. 

Aug 19, 12 9:43 pm  · 
 · 

I would say added age brings added experience, understanding and added value.

Achieving high levels in your studies - and networking within the profession throughout the course will give you the best opportunities after graduation.

Aug 20, 12 12:34 am  · 
 · 
file

@mbooberalles: "Despite these degrees of success, I can't make a living ..." That would seem to be the perfect preparation for a life as an architect.

Aug 20, 12 7:14 am  · 
 · 
Justin Ather Maud