Archinect
anchor

student loan debt for architecture school?

+i

what kind of student loan debt have you managed to rack up after going to architecture school? im talking b.archs, m.archs I, II, and III's, post-pro, and PhDs.... ANYONE who has acquired debt for this profession... whats the number???

ill get it started...
70k B.Arch and about to start a PhD- yes, i am nuts (at least he PhD is funded though)

Mar 27, 07 8:33 am

i've got somewhere around $50K from my M.Arch... or at least that was about the number when i graduated 4 years ago... so now it's a little lower that i have left to pay... it's consolidated into payments that are about $300/month...

+i, where are you going to be doing your Ph.D.? i'm probably applying to programs next year... are you fully funded? and for how long?

Mar 27, 07 8:45 am  · 
 · 
starrchitect

$9,000 for 5 year B-Arch degree.

Mar 27, 07 9:57 am  · 
 · 
+i

chicarchitect,

lucky

*(in my best napolean dynamite voice)

was it a private school or public?

Mar 27, 07 10:11 am  · 
 · 
casual

currently 0 for me after undergrad, trying to decide whether or not i wanna go into the red majorly for grad school.

Mar 27, 07 10:12 am  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

$15k for undergrad, plus another $20k to $25k for M.Arch (4 year program), which starts this coming fall. Canadian funds.

(School's about $5000/year here)

Mar 27, 07 10:22 am  · 
 · 
bowling_ball

Follow up to this: I ended up with $42K debt because about $10K was forgiven. Payback according to the lender schedule is $480/month for 10 years. I hope to have it paid back after about 8.

Jan 21, 18 9:32 pm  · 
 · 
+i

architphil- as for the phd, its all about negotiations with the program + university and finding individual foundations to give you grants/scholarships... and youll undoubtedly be a TA or teach some lower level undergrad courses- which can help pay the bills...

Mar 27, 07 10:25 am  · 
 · 
starrchitect