Archinect
anchor

Struggle between Architect and Industrial design

rdmcolrz

Hi guys, I'm a Industrial design major student just graduated from school. Of all fields of design I became more and more found of architecture. But I don't know if I really want to spend five more years to study in college in order to get a chance to get a architect license in Taiwan. (Where I live)  Of course if I have a chance to go abroad I might take it.

What differs Architect from Industrial Design?   Probably is the question I want to ask. 

Thanks for replying!!!! It would really help me make up my decision. 

Jul 16, 12 9:41 am
zonker

I studied industrial design then switched to architecture

In industrial design, you design everything - cars, computer casings like, ipads soap containers, graphic design - I think ID is more dynamic than architecture more tied directly into culture via consumer products - architecture is more structured - check out Ideo or frog

Jul 16, 12 11:53 am  · 
 · 
unamandlamjo

I only got accepted into Industrial Design. But i have always wanted to do Architecture. Could you perhaps give me a bit of insight on when you switched to Architecture and how was that possible?

Jan 20, 18 6:11 am  · 
 · 
rationalist