Archinect
anchor

Pre-fab or Conventional Construction? Cost Estimate Help for average 2000 sf house

jo.E.

I am a student interested in making a line-item cost estimate comparing Prefab to the conventional construction method for a 2000 sf house. I am currently using the 2007 Residential Cost Data book to estimate typical construction. There is a page that exactly summarizes the line item cost of construction for an average 2000sf home. The number is $81.25.

I am having trouble estimating a Prefab equivalent for comparison. For example, I don't know what is competitive in the market right now to use as a good comparison and where to find the line items or costs since it is a different process. Also, I would like to ask what are other types of "alternative" construction techniques that are also competitive in the residential market?

Please help!

Mar 4, 07 3:18 am

you might contact one of the purveyors of prefab houses. they're usually advertised in dwell mag. even if it's just to get the word out and not for a real project, they should be willing to help you, i'd think.

problem is that these different prefab experiments, while promising, are still in the early stages and therefore don't have a 'market' price yet. they haven't reached a point of economy through quantity and are therefore still running higher than targeted costs.

they may never be as low as conventional construction anyway. one of the goals, as much as affordability, is to get architect-designed and [gasp!] possibly modern houses down to a similar cost to what is commonly considered affordable - so there's an option.

Mar 4, 07 8:09 am  · 
 · 
b4g

Try contacting these guys.

cuttingedgehomes

I was consulting these guys on a prefab townhome style project that I was working on last year.

Mar 4, 07 1:02 pm  · 
 · 
outed

there are so many parameters you're not defining that it's impossible to really give you any good advice, beyond contacting specific manufacturers.