Archinect
anchor

Advice about job offer

difficultfix

Hey whats up Everyone,

I need some advice

I had a job Interview on Monday, and I got offered $18. an hr...

I currently work for an MEP (mechanical, electrical, and plumbing) consulting engineering firm. I make $23 and some change...
I would be taking a paycut from what I currently make. I am a first year grad student (M.Arch4+3) and at my current employment I do the Graphics and CAD work. I am thinking about taking the offer I got from the architectural firm, because I am worried no one else will offer me that much (since I am still in school and since I have heard that alot of people in my area got started at about $12 an hr). I make decent money were I am at, but its not architecture and I wont be able to do IDP if I stay at my current employment.

Any thoughts on this....Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanx

DFix

Mar 1, 07 11:01 pm

18/hr is a pretty good wage for a student internship. I've known full-time people with degrees who weren't making that much.

Mar 1, 07 11:17 pm  · 
 · 
tzenyujuei

haha yah $18 is good... would you say the place offering you a job would be a good name to add to your resume?

Mar 1, 07 11:29 pm  · 
 · 
difficultfix

rationalist

I realize that, thats why I am considering jumping on this offer but I am not too sure if I want to yet. I have till monday to decide.

Mar 1, 07 11:32 pm  · 
 · 
difficultfix

I believe so, for one I would began to have Architectural experience. I dont know what this firm standing is in the Architectural community, But the way I see it, is that I would be opening a door for myself into the field no matter what firm it is.

Mar 1, 07 11:38 pm  · 
 · 
montu

I believe that IDP will accept some units from an engineer Licensed Professional.

A great deal of what you deal with professionaly is dealing with MEP concerns. It could be an asset if approached properly.

Milk it as long as you can stand it doing it will make you a better architect.