Archinect
anchor

Anyone here educated at Philadelphia University (College of Textiles and Science)?

Sarah Hamilton

Just curious if any Archinectors went to Philadelphia University, or are affiliated with it. Does anyone know how the student center turned out, if it really is as bad as it seemed to be during construction?

Just curious.

Feb 26, 07 5:40 pm
quixotica

I went to Philly U. Graduated before it was completed, but I've seen the results. I loved the buildings exterior, but the Interior had some of the worst lighting I've ever seen. like literally hundreds of bare lightbulbs hanging from wires on the ceiling. Overall though, I think it was a great addition to the campus allthough it completly eliminated parking for the kids who needed it most.

Feb 26, 07 5:47 pm  · 
 · 
Sarah Hamilton

When did you graduate? I graduated in 2006.

Feb 26, 07 5:48 pm  · 
 · 
quixotica

'05. we Probably know each other, allthough I know a lot of people named Sarah from that school. Arch or interiors?

Feb 26, 07 6:03 pm  · 
 · 
parkerd

How do the two of you feel about the education there? Do the pros outweigh the cons?

Feb 26, 07 6:16 pm  · 
 · 
quixotica

As an arch. student, I was very happy with my education there. However I also tried to take as many non Arch. classes as possible. Minoring in Interiors and Graphic Design. I've heard from a lot of Interiors students who weren't too happy with the program even though it's supposed to be one of the best. I think there is a lot you need to do there on your own, it isn't set up as well for those who lack serious self motivation but in reality, that's just preparing you for the real world. Yeah i think the pros definatly outweigh the cons. But until they let alumnis use the brand new facilities that our tuition paid for, don't expect me to be contributing any money to the cause.

Feb 26, 07 6:43 pm  · 
 · 
parkerd