hey guys
Are there any architects here that have to speak
different languages on the job? If so how is that
goin? Are they the languages the are common
in school (spanish french german)?

Feb 20, 07 12:54 pm
matteo

Italian is my mothe tongue.
More than half of our clients are english, so I need to speak and understand english.

Feb 20, 07 1:40 pm  · 
 · 
larslarson

where do you practice matteo?

Feb 20, 07 2:11 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

i studied one semester of introduction to spanish a few months ago to use with the spanish speaking guys at the job site...as expected from an introductory course, i'm still choppy but i've used it a couple of times to translate for my boss, who doesn't speak any spanish except for the greetings and the good byes, and the worker at the site...it is much more difficult for me to speak it (i find myself with long pauses searching for the proper words) than to listen to someone and understand what the person is saying...and when a person i'm speaking with knows a little bit of english i speak the spanglish...

it's frustrating though when you start a conversation with a worker in spanish and they bust out with super fast tongue..."damn, homie! can't you tell with my accent that this is not my most comfortable language?, slow down"

and construction terms are another thing...

Feb 20, 07 2:21 pm  · 
 · 

Yo hablo y escribo un pocito de espanol, pero no necessito para mi trabajar.

Feb 20, 07 2:29 pm  · 
 · 
liberty bell

Hey, rationalist, my high school Spanish actually allowed me to totally comprende that sentence, yay for me!

Honestly, I think I could make a million finding someone to teach a "construction Spanish" course for architects. Some words I think we need to know:

flush
align
1/16" grout joint
no shoe moulding
etc.

Also, doing residential work you need to know a bit of the language of psychology, to interpret what a husband and wife are really saying when they talk about their relative closet sizes.

Feb 20, 07 3:15 pm  ·