Archinect
anchor

Being an Architect...Whats it like?

tes7

Im 2 years out of high school...kinda at a dead end job...and its finally hitting me that I should probably get my **** together and go to school. I like art and design, its an area where i can say that Im somewhat talented. Thing is that Im not talented enough to be a paid artist, though Ive always loved architecture...the New York Skyline and Roman architecture in particular. Now I havent ever read up on architecture, worked or met anyone in the field, oh and as a former Graffiti artist I guess thats already a strike against me, but I just wanted to know...whats it like to be an architect?...how many years in college did it take to get your degree and how were the courses like.. basically I want to know as much as possible....oh yea and any recomended schools?

thx in advance..

Jan 30, 07 1:48 am
strlt_typ

architecture is far from being your conventional art...it's more about building...so if you're into art go into art. don't try to use architecture as a bigger and better medium for your art (gehry)...it's a tough medium (if want to go that way)...that involves less artsy procedures (door schedules, selecting refrigerators, submitting plans to the building department, following codes)...

Jan 30, 07 3:26 am  · 
 · 
mdler

dead end job... you are half way there

Jan 30, 07 3:40 am  · 
 · 
Nevermore

Tes, How long can u stay without sleep at a single stretch ?

(Thats the MOST important, the rest of all archy stuff is all secondary to this )

Jan 30, 07 5:14 am  · 
 · 

what is it like ? actually it's in the eye of the beholder
you know what check out this, it'll help u get the picture of the practice:
http://www.raic.org/architecture_architects/becoming_an_architect/index_e.htm

Jan 30, 07 5:18 am  · 
 · 
volcomic