Archinect
anchor

occupied or unoccupied roof? roof access question

mmm3

In dealing with a stairway to the roof, Section 1003.3..3.12.1 of IBC states '...In buildings without an occupied roof from the top story shall be permitted to be by an alternating tread device'. But nowhere in the IBC is a occupied roof defined.

Furthermore to complicate things 1003.3.3.10 Alternating treade devices states 'a.t.d. are limited to an element of a means of egress in buildings of Groups F,H,and S from a mezzanine not more than 250 s.f. in area which serves not more than 5 people..."

Question being can I use a a.t.d. with shaft and hatch in a 16 unit, 7 story, r-3 to access the roof? To make it more interesting I need to go up 2 floors with the shaft due to a top penthouse level (which have their own access to the roof (decks) in private stairways).

Anbody who reads this and replys is cool.

Aug 4, 04 7:20 pm
Mum

I don't have IBC 2000 in front of me but I have 2003. I'm studying for ICC code certification and a similar question came up in my study guide.

An unoccupied roof is just that - a space that is not meant to be occupied. Access is allowed for maintenance of rtu's etc. An alternating tread device is not to be used for sun decks or any other space meant to be occupied by anyone other than a person with a specific reason to be in that space. The definition (They made it section 1009.10 in 2003) leaves a lot to interpretation but that is the interpretation.