Archinect
anchor

Career Question

chad firmstone

Dear Community,

I have currently met the proverbial "folk in the road." To choose one direction or other.  I graduated from a mediocre architectural program with a 5 year Bachelor of Architecture (professional, accrediated) degree and now have a dead end architectural gig (roughly for 2 years) in Manhattan just to satisfy the requirements for licensure.  I know I have to continue my education, since, the power of a bachelor degree has faded.

In addition, I know my calling and aspiration in life is to be a design/ principal architect. However, Im currently torn between continuing my education in architecture (post-professional master degree) or get a master's in civil engineering.  Both degrees are approximately the same amount of time to invest (roughly 1 year full time- 3 semesters).  Would more design help me? Is a master degree of architecture worth the time and money? I want to be a licensed architect, would a civil engineering degree make me more marketable?  Please help!!!!!

Jun 12, 12 11:27 am
won and done williams

Why do you need a Masters? Seems like a distraction to me. Finish your IDP, take exams, get license. Hell of a lot easier and cheaper than going back to school for a degree that does little, if anything, for your career.

Jun 12, 12 11:42 am  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

do you want to do civil engineering?

Jun 12, 12 10:09 pm  · 
 · 
mantaray

Why do you think you need to get a Master's?  Because you don't think you learned enough in school?  

Jun 13, 12 1:52 am  · 
 · 

"folk in the road."

folk in the

folk in

folk

folk

I am frankly surprised.

Jun 13, 12 2:34 pm  · 
 · 
Rusty!

"I am frankly surprised."

You mean flankly supplies.

Also, how does one get a Masters in Civil Engineering in one year? BArch doesn't seem like it would prepare you for engineering courses at all.

Jun 13, 12 2:47 pm  · 
 · 
lletdownl