Archinect
anchor

Is the REAL WORLD really this souless?

Sarah Hamilton

I graduated with my B.Arch. just last May (2006). I have been working in a medium sized firm, with great benifits, and nice people, but we aren't creating "Architecture." Nothing I work on, or help to design has any place or purpose. We put fake windows on our buildings and don't hesitate to build a "Mission Revival" or "French" style building in Chicago or any other place that it wouldn't belong. I was even told today, after questioning my boss about a specific design decision, that the goal of the project I am currently working on is to have complete documents by the end of January, and what it looks like doesn't matter.

I know that I work for a "Client Oriented" firm, but I was taught to DESIGN. I was taught to find the best possible solution to a design problem, and that designs should have place and purpose. I personally like to focus on the experience of the architecture and tend to design by imagined moments.

Am I just experiences the differences between school and life? Is there something I can do? I'm suffocating from the soulessness.

Jan 12, 07 9:47 pm
Chch

If you feel this strongly about it, go find a design firm and tell them EXACTLY THIS. They will appreciate your passion for the importance of design. Architecture does NOT need to be like this... find a few firms that you do admire and apply.

I cannot emphasise enough how much this experience - if prolonged - will impede your design abilities. Find a job that suits you better - do not compromise.

Jan 12, 07 9:54 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

switch jobs.

Jan 12, 07 10:17 pm  · 
 · 

yup.

Jan 12, 07 10:42 pm  · 
 · 
dedubs

get out while you still have the conscious.. or in this case a soul. if not you will begin to become them, and you won't realize it. imagine it like a zombie movie. shit, wait.. they all die at the end anyways, don't they?

Jan 13, 07 12:26 am  · 
 · 
myriam

dude, what a shitty place to work. go somewhere else.