Archinect
anchor

Architects & leisure time

Monolith

Not being an Architect, I was wondering what leisure time hours are like among Architects? Do you have just as much free time as the next 9-5 working individual or perhaps much less?

Jan 12, 07 3:04 pm
perturbanist

any one want to field this one?

I had one job which required 115 hours per week on numerous occasions. sleeping & eating becomes optional to some in this case.

Jan 12, 07 3:12 pm  · 
 · 
swamprat

leisure time is if your working on CAD all day you switch over to 3D stuff, and vice versa. Their are no sports, physical fitness, or social activity. which is really funny because a lot of architects talk about architecture as being a social thing.

Jan 12, 07 3:17 pm  · 
 · 
Monolith

That's insane!

Is that typical of most architectural practices or was that a one-off? The prospect of working so many hours is intimidating I have to say!

Jan 12, 07 3:18 pm  · 
 · 
Monolith

Being a devoted rock climber, it sounds as though it wouldn't fit in with my evening training sessions!?

Jan 12, 07 3:19 pm  · 
 · 
swisscardlite

i know architects who work 90+ hours a week, and architects who work 40 hrs a week...I think it depends on the firm, what kind of work they're doing, how many people are employed, office policies etc. I don't think there's always a set hour work week..but more like depending on when whether a deadline is coming up, or if something needs to be fixed etc.

Jan 12, 07 3:21 pm  · 
 · 
Dapper Napper

I have plenty of free time, which I waste watching t.v. But then I'm not all that important at my office, so not much overtime. Yet.

Jan 12, 07 3:22 pm  · 
 · 
Murrye

oh, it's not that bad. totally depends on the firm you work with and where you're going with your career. i've known plenty of architects who typically work eight hour days. of course, i'd guess that the majority probably works 50+ hours in a typical week, and much more for a deadline...