Archinect
anchor

Incentive Programs for Environmental and Energy Efficient Developments

I am interested to hear experiences and suggestions as to what sorts of incentive programs government entities can impliment to encourage Environmental and Energy Efficient Design in new developments. The trouble is that medium to small sized cities cannot compare their efforts to mega-cities like Seattle and Boston, so it would be interesting for me to hear about small city cases. Other than the obvious positive environmental impact, what are the incentives?

Jan 12, 07 7:52 am
Nevermore

and What are your motives in wanting to know ?

Jan 12, 07 7:53 am  · 
 · 
perturbanist

yah whats the damn deal? whats that up your sleeve boy?

Jan 12, 07 10:08 am  · 
 · 

Well, I work as an urban planner, and I haven't been able to find examples of cities similar in size to the city I work for which are doing the things that we are interested in.

Jan 12, 07 12:09 pm  · 
 · 
treekiller

This is a good topic to discuss- so stop being so perturbed by the question.

St. Paul has a wide ranging sustainability plan including lots of recycling and alternate energy, since I don't live on that side of the river, I'll ask Beta to fill us in.

Austin has one of the longest running programs thanks to pliny fisk- some of the UT kids can answer this one.

California has the 'one million solar roofs' inititive that SF is taking the lead on. CA title 24 dictates state wide energy performance for all new construction, so this is a different case then other states.

Has Bill MacDonough influenced Charlottesville, VA to be a leader? a city doesn't get much smaller and remain urban....

Jan 12, 07 12:34 pm  · 
 · 
joshuacarrell