anchor

price of software...

dml955i

Anyone out there that can give me pricing info on the following:

AutoCad 2007
AutoCad LT
Vectorworks 12.5
FormZ

I'm in the process of researching software for my firm (high-end residential and multi-family) and trying to get the best bang for the buck.

I've been an AutoCad user since R12, and a FormZ user since the mid 90s, with some MicroStation for a couple years (hated it). I have zero experience with Vectorworks, but I hear that it's very intuitive and would be well suited for firms specializing in residential.

I have seen demonstrations of both Vectorworks and Archicad and was a little put off by the UI - they seemed a little too cheap and chintzy and didn't seem like they had enough "balls" technically...

I prefer to keep my drafting files seperate from my model/rendering files - just for safety's sake...

Mac or PC - doesn't matter to me.

Thanks for the help!

Nov 30, 06 2:24 pm
grid

internet connection = $30 a month

Nov 30, 06 4:06 pm  · 
 · 
silverlake

oh shit, you mean you're supposed to pay for it?

Nov 30, 06 4:09 pm  · 
 · 
xtbl

ha ha ha, pay for software??? who does that!?

Nov 30, 06 4:31 pm  · 
 · 
dml955i

Yes, I've been counting the minutes until somebody posted about using pirated software...

I used to work at a place that used a ton of pirated software and were paid a visit, got busted, and got hit with a hefty fine. Some were laid off to cover the bill. Not cool.

I find it hard to believe that programmers don't write in some bit of code that alerts the company that their software is being installed. Most software you install nowadays automatically connects to the Internet to register...

If I'm starting my own office, I'd like to be legit from the get-go and not have to worry about Agent Smith knocking on my door...

Any real insight out there or should I continue reading all the "your grad school sucks" and "Mac vs. PC" threads?

Nov 30, 06 5:21 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ