Archinect
anchor

Best computers for arch. students

Uros

Hi everyone!

This is a great site! I just discovered it and already thought I'd ask a question. Very Happy I'm sure this topic has been discussed sometime previously, but I cannot browse through 50+ pages in order to find it. Nevertheless, I am currently looking for a laptop/pc. I am an architecture graduate who will be applying for grad school next year and am interested in knowing your thoughts on which notebook is ideal for us students (particularly grad, if it matters ?). I've been considering the MacBook. In addition, should I also consider having it customized - to include programs such as photoshop, form z...CAD? Any input is greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance! Cheers...

Nov 27, 06 12:47 am
robust84

Macs are nice, just be careful since they don't run autocad....unless you do that new thing where macs run windows.

Nov 27, 06 12:30 pm  · 
 · 
Rogue Agent

The new intel Macs would be a great choice. Between the stability of Mac OS (not to mention ArchiCAD, Vector Works, etc.) and the ability to run Windows natively or emulated with Parallels, you can do it all. I run AutoCAD on my mac in Parallels and it works well, granted I haven't used any 3D programs in emulated mode yet, but you can run them in native windows mode and there are plenty of 3D programs for the mac too.

Nov 27, 06 6:16 pm  · 
 · 
DEVicox

it all depends on the size of your wallet...

Nov 27, 06 6:45 pm  · 
 · 
chupacabra

my waller is huge, but it just makes the amount of money i have within it look tiny.

Nov 27, 06 6:49 pm  · 
 · 
chupacabra

wallet, doh.

Nov 27, 06 6:49 pm  · 
 · 
binary