Archinect
anchor

How to render landscape?

architect_nyc

I'm just a newb and learning how to render.  does anyone know where I can find tutorials/examples on great landscape renderings?  I don't want to use any software like blender, and typically use vray for rendering.  I guess I'm looking to see how ppl photoshop grass, plants, trees into their renderings and still make them look pseudo-photorealistic

May 4, 12 3:22 pm
Tee002

I guess I'm looking to see how ppl photoshop grass, plants, trees into their renderings and still make them look pseudo-photorealistic

It is quick and easy way to do still images. Or if your computer is not capable of handling too many complex geometry. You may want to render building and the ground plane with vanishing point to add stuffs with PS such as trees, materials ( texture), people, etc.

But if you have time to invest, search a few Youtube videos on how to do it in programs like V-ray,Thea or Max. The process is not that complicated at all actually.  You may also want to look up forums for these programs, and ask questions about things you find hard to understand. You could also post your WIP to ask advice as well. There will be some 3D snobs who tend to look down upon the practice of retouching the (raw) still images with PS. But who care? You're not a 3D artist.

May 4, 12 3:53 pm  · 
 · 
med.

I've been working a lot of vray for sketchup.  It's shockingly good!

May 4, 12 5:12 pm  · 
 · 
trace™

It never matters how you reach a quality rendering (or photograph, for that matter). 

Go look on YouTube, there are tons of helpful videos.

May 5, 12 9:28 am  · 
 · 
BrianYamagata

One of the most helpful person in the industry I've found to be is Alex Hogrefe. He does awesome work and is willing to share his knowledge and expertise across the board. This kind of unselfish behavior is rare in our field, so I figured I'd pass it on!

http://www.alexhogrefe.com