Archinect
anchor

Graduate Degrees to Complement an Architectural Degree?

Hi all,

So I'm a 2011 MArch grad from KU who's been struggling for the past year to even land an interview, let alone find work. I've been surviving on what little freelance graphic design work I can get, but it's starting to dry up and my student loan bills aren't going away anytime soon. The further I go, the more it seems like the best option for me is to go back to school and expand my abilities with a degree that complements architecture well.

I'm very interesting in sustainability and humanitarian design, but I'm not really sure what degree options would be beneficial for those areas...but I'm also open to new suggestions.

So...any ideas?

-Ben

Mar 25, 12 7:18 pm
trace™

My default answer:  MBA or MSRED

Attain the power to do things and you can decide what is done.  Start at the bottom and you will always answer to the decision makers.  Control from the top and can shape a future that you want and prioritize those values you feel are important.

Mar 26, 12 10:32 am  · 
 · 
quizzical

^

What trace said.

Mar 26, 12 10:59 am  · 
 · 
geezertect

What quizzical said about what trace said.

Mar 26, 12 11:06 am  · 
 · 
whyARCH?

I think trace has that answer saved in a word document and just pastes it in whenever someone asks this question.

Mar 26, 12 12:35 pm  · 
 · 

Hmm, I hadn't thought of pursuing something more business-oriented, although I did see a program for MA Design Management, which seemed intriguing. I'll look into those, thanks everyone.

Mar 26, 12 1:07 pm  · 
 · 
quizzical

Benjamin:

It seems to me you have two separate paths to consider:

a) obtain a complementary degree that would give you entre to a more lucrative career  in a field allied with design and construction -- e.g. real estate development; or

b) obtain a comlementary degree that would give you enhanced credentials within the profession of architecture.