Archinect
anchor

Separation of Architecture and Relationships

sloring

Just a little backgound info:

I have been dating a girl since Oct, she lived in NYC and I recently moved up here after graduation to be with her and find a job. We are currently on the fritz and I have been doing a lot of thinking about why things when wrong.

She's in fashion, which I feel is a very politicial and superficial industry, much more so than architecture can be/is. Naturally, being a recent grad I have problems with this superficiality and potential lack of meaning and have begun to wonder whether or not it is appropriate to separate my critical, relentless, sometimes cynical view of the world that has been injected into me via my education. I feel that my pursuit of perfection has caused problems in my relationships with those outside of architecture who don't understand a lot of what I am doing, especially my girlfriend. I have found out that you can't always talk like a pretentious, arrogant know-it-all to your girlfriend like you can your studio buddies. My question is whether or not it is possible to fence this questioning mentality in around my architectural pursuits and not allow it to enter into my relationships. After all, in a relationship you have to take the good and the bad, and compromise to make it last, something that I have not had to do [as of yet, I know it will probably change when I work more] as of yet.

Jul 17, 06 1:45 am
Manther

boo hoo

Jul 17, 06 2:35 am  · 
 · 
guiggster

Wait wait wait...you talk to your girlfriend like you talk to your studio buddies? I'm not sure this has anything to do with your views on fashion and superficiality.

Jul 17, 06 3:11 am  · 
 · 
Becker

fashion is more political?

in regards to "I feel that my pursuit of perfection has caused problems in my relationships with those outside of architecture who don't understand a lot of what I am doing"

architecture fits into society, not the other way around.

Jul 17, 06 3:44 am  ·