Archinect
anchor

when did you master?

Archilearner

I am wondering when you guys become skillful at AutoCAD, 3DMax and other softwares?
Like when you were at undergrad school or grad school?
Did you learn it as one of the courses you took at school?
Did you learn it on your own in druing your free time with a manual guide and online free tutorials?

What's the best one to learn them?
Thanks!

Jul 15, 06 8:21 am
matteo

I'm not skillfull at all.
Even if I have a wide knowledge of autocad and 3d max, I'm still learning to use them. I always tend to use the same commands to achieve the result i wanted to achieve, but my path is not necessary the best or the fastest one. Everyone has his own way of using these softwares, none is the right one and none is the wrong one, they are just different way to achieve the same result.

Jul 15, 06 8:58 am  · 
 · 
IADR

you'll always learn something new everytime you use any of those stated programmes.
I persoanlly think the best way to approach design orientated software is to know what you want the overall outcome to look like and use the resources you have at hand (internet, books etc) to get the result.

Jul 15, 06 11:23 am  · 
 · 
Aluminate

The best way to really master any of them is to use them in a professional setting, on real projects with specific requirements and deadlines.

But being familiar with at least some type of CAD is pretty much a prerequisite for the vast majority of entry-level jobs these days, so taking at least one class, or at least following through some kind of book or in-depth tutorial is advisable.

I took a couple CAD classes as an undergrad. There was a 3D class that was mandatory, and most people also took basic AutoCAD as an elective. Beyond that I didn't want to spend any more elective credits on software courses, so I didn't take any more in college or grad school, though I often used whatever software the schools had to produce work for my studio projects.