Archinect
anchor

Getting Registered

architecte

I am a MArch recent graduate and have been working in a firm for a while.  I have been going through the ARE exams ambitiously and am trying to finish them in a year.  Preparing for the series of exams can be quite stressful especially when I am working full-time.  I am questioning myself if there is really a need for me to rush through this whole process.  I doubt I will be running my own practice in the near future.  Even if I am fortunate enough to get registered in a year, I will still be working as a junior in the firm, so I do not think that my licence will make a whole lot of difference.  I am wondering what others think about the value of a junior licensed architect?   I personally think that it takes time to build up professional experience and real experience counts more than a licence.  I know quite a lot of people in senior positions are unlicensed and have no interest in becoming an architect.  Do firms see a registered professional differently?

I am not trying to be discouraged here although am leaning towards slowing down my pace with the ARE.  Other than letting the exams take over my life, I could have done other things to become a more well-rounded person.   

Thanks for your thoughts!

Mar 12, 12 7:06 pm
BrianYamagata

I'm in the same boat as you, and I say go for it and get it done!!! Some people will argue that it doesn't matter, or that it's a waste of time. I think getting registered, no matter the outcome, is an achievement that is definitely worth your time and efforts. If you intend to practice independently, or start your own office (as I intend to) then having a license will surely be beneficial to your career.