Archinect
anchor

Does your AIA smell like mothballs?

207moak

I'm wondering if other archinectors would share stories of their experience experience in their local AIA chapters?

I joined and remain a member solely because the office is paying. I don't really see and can't really imagine what the AIA does in return for the mountains of cash collected in dues. I guess it make Record the most expensive magazine around.

My chapter is basically a storing house for all the stuffed shirts of the dusty old guard. Is your experience similar or do you actually feel involved in something?

Jun 29, 06 10:50 am

i think in most chapters your description is right on... when i graduated and started in my first office they basically forced me to join the AIA against my wishes since they were up for the local firm of the year award and were trying to get 100% membership...

a little more than a year ago, myself, along with a core group of 4-5 other young architects started a "young/emerging architects group" called etba (emerging tampa bay architects)... along with a more progressive than usual chapter president, last year we were able to start forcing the chapter to do some more interesting things... now we have etba meetings every month... sponsor movie nights at a local theater where we have seen architectural movies about gehry, hadid, rural studio, and others... we've had a few cool building tours... sponsored some local competitions... had some gallery shows... are working on putting together a charrette for the local art museum... and are working with the state AIA to plan the second annual "emerging professional's conference" which will be here in tampa bay with david lewis from lewis.tsurumaki.lewis as the keynote speaker...