Archinect
anchor

Pricing Exercise

wurdan freo

Ok. Here's the deal. I'm new at this and was hoping to get feed back on my process as well as challenge those who have never done this to look at architecture from a different point of view.

Let's say a developer calls me and asks for pricing for architectural services.  He has 7 apartment buildings he is buying, 5 of which are going to be remodeled and 2 are going to be torn down for future development. Total units to be renovated equals 75. 

Services I am going to provide include as built documentation, site and mep consultant coordination, code compliance, some minor space planning(most of the existing spaces will remain as is), construction documents including specifications, and construction observation to consist of a rough in walk through, a punch list and substantial completion.

He has budgeted 20,000 per unit for the remodel, putting him at a total budget of $1.5 million. At 8%, my fee for the above services would come in at $120,000. Broken down as such

50% = MEP and Civil = $60,000

50% = Architectural = $60,000

50% of Architectural = $30,000  for insurance, taxes, overhead, etc.

50% of Architectural = $30,000 for profit and wages.

20% profit of $30,000 = $6000

10% contingency 0f $30000 = $3000

70% wages of $30,000 = $21,000

$24,000 @ $35/hr = 600 billable hours

or  (15) forty hour weeks

or  3.5 months.

To get this job done,I am anticipating the following:

1. Asbuilting (3) forty hour weeks for a $10/hr intern and a $20/hr entry level draftsman.

= $3600

2. Code compliance and cd's = 6 forty hour weeks for a $35/hour Licensed Architect and a $20/hr entry level draftsman

= $8400 + $4800 = $13,200

3. This leaves $4200 at $35/hour =  120 hours that I can bill myself to the project.

Thoughts? Comments? Does it seem feasible? What details am I missing?

Many thanks. Pricing reflects a mid tier mid-western city. Yay Milwaukee.

Mar 8, 12 4:37 pm
Rusty!