Archinect
anchor

Is a love of architecture a requirement for being an architect?

RValu100

I don't love architecture. It's OK. I like the fact that it's relatively interesting and is neither medicine nor law, which are two other relatively prestigious professions that I know I would hate. I also like that you don't need to be an extrovert to be an architect. But beyond that, I don't go crazy over buildings. I currently work as a draftsman, which is kind of fun, but I don't go nuts over architecture books at the bookstore, or spend all my spare time learning about design. Should I stay in architecture? Is a passion for the profession necessary for the career?

Feb 28, 12 8:37 pm

Architecture is a really tough industry, so yes, you should have a lot of passion.

That said, a couple quotes from Wang Shu, this year's Pritzker Prize winner, as shared by @HawthorneLAT during Shu's lecture at UCLA yesterday, struck a personal chord with me:

"Architecture is not the most important thing in my life."

Wang begins by saying he hopes the [Pritzker] prize won't make him so busy he can't spend time with his son, who is ten.

Basically, you need to love architecture, but you also need to stay balanced and open-minded.... and keep your priorities in check. It will keep you happy and make you a better architect.

Feb 28, 12 8:52 pm  · 
 · 
swegin

In my opinion yes. You will put in a lot of blood sweat and tears in your schooling and after all of tat hard work you will probably not make alot more than you are making now.... So if you do not love it , you will be miserable.

Feb 28, 12 8:54 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Requirement?  No.

Helluva good idea?  Yes.

Feb 28, 12 8:59 pm  · 
 · 

citizen nailed it.

Feb 28, 12 9:43 pm  · 
 · 

Why would you pursue something you did not love?

“Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” – Confucius

Feb 28, 12 9:48 pm  · 
jeandarch