Archinect
anchor

which software program?

wannabe

I am a architecture student, and I haven't taken any computer-based design class at school. I am planning to learn how to use some design programs on my own this summer.

What's the most popular and essential software an architect should master?
Do you know any good Comprehensive AutoCAD guidebook?

Any information is appreciated. Thanks!

Apr 29, 06 7:37 am
trace™

Well, acad isn't going to help you design much, but it's essentail.

For design, nothing compares to FormZ, imho. 3D Studio is great for rendering and animations, but not for design.

Apr 29, 06 8:39 am  · 
 · 
poster

what are the advantages of FormZ over 3ds max, im a 3ds max man myself. not that i use it much for design.

Just curious of how it's a better program for design???

Apr 29, 06 2:10 pm  · 
 · 
zeth01

MAYA

Apr 29, 06 4:03 pm  · 
 · 
trace™

Max requires a significant amount of work to do simple things, like say you have a huge wall with tons of windows and you want to move everything (openings, mullions, glass, etc.) down 6" - just a pain. In FormZ you can select ALL the vertices and move it all, very quickly.

FormZ is also a billion times better while moving scenes around. you can move around, zoom in and out, without ever having the scene flash and hesitate. This goes for moving objects around too. It's super simple to move something, snap it in 3D, and know it's accurate. Not with Max.
Basically, it's just so much faster to model and explore with.

But for final presentation work, Max is a billion times easier. Cameras, lights, etc., are just better and faster.

FYI, I use Max daily for presentation stuff, but could give it up if FormZ got some decent rendering plugins and upped their animation (which it looks like they are doing). Maxwell does not count as 'decent', not in the real world.

Apr 29, 06 5:56 pm  · 
 · 
postal

are people actually endorsing Form-Z? ach...

3d Model = RHINO...blows everyone away...