Archinect
anchor

Professional growth advice needed

CrazyHouseCat

Any advice on how I (and other youngish professionals) can keep growing?

I graduated top of class with MArch from a descent school almost 4 years ago.  Since then, I've been pushing myself to collect skills, experiences and credentials.  I’m the Revit leader of my 40+ people office, I’m LEED AP BC+C, I’m licensed.  I’ve worked on mostly institutional projects that range from high design, to high technical complexity, from programing to CA.  I’ve managed small projects on my own (from scheduling, billing, client meetings, etc.) as well as been part of multi office large team.  I’m pretty much equally comfortable and proficient designing, rendering, meeting client, figuring out details, working out value engineering, etc. 

My goal is to be a well rounded architect.  I know what I lack now is experience which will take time and patience.  But what can I do outside of my daily office life that can help me progress?  Ever since I got past the licensing exams, I’ve been feeling a little idle.  Advices will be much appreciated!

Feb 14, 12 4:03 pm
whistler

Network w people who have financial resources or corporate connections..... someday they might be your client or help with the introduction to a client.

Feb 14, 12 6:22 pm  · 
 · 
CrazyHouseCat

Thanks whistler, business development skills are definitely the next hot item on my list.  Just not totally sure how to go about getting it.  Such opportunities for youngsters are a bit slim.

Anyone else?

Books to read?

Should I enter competitions to keep my design skills relevant?  Or is that not effective time spent?

I've considered MBA, but decided against it after some research.  I was a business major for 2 years before architecture and I don’t intend on going into RE development.

Contractors license?

Many thanks!

Feb 14, 12 6:48 pm  · 
 · 
outthere