Archinect
anchor

What to drive or what not to...

calatrava

I graduated two years ago and landed a corporate job making a semi decent living (10+ yrs. experience). It's time to trade in my heap for a hip new car. The devil in me would love to pick up a BMW M3 or an Audi S4 but my logical environmentally conscious side pushes me towards the Toyota Prius or the Honda Civic Hybrid. What kind of a car would you recommend if you were in my position? What do you drive?

Jul 7, 04 1:34 pm
formanaught
...environmentally conscious side pushes me towards the Toyota Prius or the Honda Civic Hybrid....

don't be one of those 'it's hip to be electric' wankers...

get a diesel VW Passat and run it on biodiesel and/or straight vegetable oil.

Jul 7, 04 1:39 pm  · 
 · 
DelGaudio

Unless you want to carry around a bottle of canola oil everywhere you go you'll need to accept the fact that gas stations are the easies place to fill you tank. Biodiesel is great but somewhat unrealistic for people in the city who can't set up a small refinery in their living room.

I drive a 04 Toyota Prius and I love it. At first I was skeptical. My fiancé and I purchase the car together almost two year ago. She did lean on me a bit. I wanted something more sporty. It's perfect for us. It gets' 47+ miles to the gallon consistently. Hybrid technology is great and is clearly going to be the future. They've made significant improvements to the 05 model as well. We liked it better than the Hybrid Civic for a few reasons. Mostly there are more design consideration to the interior that we liked. The touch screed display, the low profile transition, they just spent more time refining the Prius interior. The Lexus RX and Ford Escape are coming out with hybrid editions that both use the Toyota hybrid system as well. If I had a family or needed to haul more stuff places I'd look at those too. All in all the car has never been great.

Jul 7, 04 1:51 pm  · 
 · 
DJ