Archinect
anchor

Non architects (mArch 1 or 3+) that got accepted to grad school

labphonic

Do any non-architects want to share their background and grad schools to which you were accepted ? I studied history and I'm trying to figure out my chances for schools. Want to list gre scores, gpa's, portfolio links? Especially portfolio links. No schools have examples of great portfolios by people with no architecture experience.

Mar 29, 06 10:25 pm
undercvr

philosophy 580 or so average Columbia.

Mar 29, 06 11:41 pm  · 
 · 
aar

GRE: 590, 720, 5.5, majored in studio art, accepted at GSD, Penn, Texas, UCLA. I went to Career Discovery at Harvard over the summer, which was absolutely essential for fleshing out my portfolio as well as getting great advice from my instructor while I was there about applying.

Mar 29, 06 11:48 pm  · 
 · 
not_here

GRE: 590 V + 730 M
Johns Hopkins University, BA in Cognitive Science.
3.10GPA

In at Catholic, UMich and IIT.
Rejected at Columbia.
Waiting on UCLA.

http://xaphan.deviantart.com has my non-drawing pieces. so my portfolio was a lot stronger than that. Essentially, my portfolio consisted of various fractals, 3d renders and portrait drawings.

hope it helps.

Mar 29, 06 11:56 pm  · 
 · 
tenex

UG degree in Economics
580V 790M 5.0
3.8 GPA

Accepted to Wash U, Tulane & Ga Tech, rejected from UOregon

no portfolio link (sorry)

But I suppose I prove that the portfolio is key...mine is ok, nothing spectacular. Everything else is good (gpa, gre, etc) , and I have experience working in an architecture firm and architectural lighting design firm. I knew I didn't really have a shot at being accepted to the top schools (and no desire to go, either) so I only applied to schools where I knew I had a good chance of being admitted and thought that they had what I wanted from an architecture school

Mar 30, 06 1:44 am  · 
 · 
skeerd

GRE: 620 V 730 M 5.0
UCLA Business/Economics
3.2 GPA