Archinect
anchor

good foam cutters (?) what brands and where to get them ?

thenewold

so, who makes really good hot wire foam cutters and where can you buy them ?

I'm looking for a really tricked-out one that has multiple adjustments and fences and so on. my current one is a proxxon which is pretty basic but I've seen nicer ones in various offices.

alternatively, if you're a foam model hater, please use this thread for funny comments about how crappy foam models are and why you think so.

Mar 9, 06 7:39 pm
strlt_typ

i can't remember where i saw it, i think one of the school blogs...she made her own foam cutter out of wood and some basic electrical components...lots of possiblities for customization

I like the denser type foams

Mar 9, 06 8:08 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

not answering your question...just throwing that in there

Mar 9, 06 8:11 pm  · 
 · 
blah

We had a German one at the place in California where I worked as an intern. Was it Bosch. It was about $800.

Mar 9, 06 10:56 pm  · 
 · 
thenewold

the net abounds with info about how to make your own ghetto-ass foam cutters (have you ever used one of these things (!) ) but I really am looking for info on a proper one made by germans or similarly stodgy people (full love to germans).

it's all about being able to adjust the wire arm (yet keep it stable) in ways that make kama sutra look amish as well as fences and guards that keep the work very steady.

Mar 9, 06 11:55 pm  · 
 · 
Peru
http://www.styrocut.de/e/styrocut/index.htm
Mar 10, 06 9:00 am  · 
 · 
thenewold

perfect

Mar 11, 06 1:02 am  · 
 · 
thenewold

PS. styrocut.de also sells thin sliced sheets of blue foam from 1mm up to 100mm or so. This is the stuff you can get at Harold's in Rotterdam I think....

Mar 11, 06 3:38 pm  · 
 · 
JohnProlly

No one cares about your OMA blue foam penetrative models man. Don't you have work to be doing?

Mar 12, 06 1:12 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box

bump - anyone know if the styrocut are available stateside?