Archinect
anchor

length of residential specs

davidneffarchitect

For all you single family residential architects out there: How many pages are your written specs?

I've recently re-written mine and they've gone from 15 to 35 pages. I've added a lot in division 01 (and division 00 which I never used before.) I'm really happy with the results.... but I'm worried it's going to scare more "mom and pop business" type contractors. How long is too long?

Jan 17, 12 7:26 pm
go do it

as a contractor i love more information. 35 pages is a lot but if i have a question the answer should be in the specs, right? just don't infect them with commercial grade material or systems that are over engineered for residential and drives up cost

also detail the hell out of those plans and the more  cuts the better

Jan 17, 12 9:41 pm  · 
 · 
davidneffarchitect

Thanks go do it.

It's good to hear a contractor's point of view. Do you prefer that specifications are right on the drawings or do you like a separate booklet? I've been thinking that if my framing specs are a list of notes on the framing plan, electrical on the electrical plan, etc that it will increase the chances that subs see the specs and have continued easy access to them.

Jan 18, 12 1:11 am  · 
 · 

Put the specs right on the drawings. No excuse for a constractor missing them, and they relate directly to details and conditions. Spec "books" are invitations to trouble.

Jan 18, 12 10:49 am  · 
 · 
wurdan freo

How are you guys developing your specs for residential work? Are you developing your specs from scratch, compiling and modifying from manufacturers and associations or using a program? Anyone use Spec Writer, Master spec, other program?

Jan 19, 12 10:36 am  · 
 · 
davidneffarchitect