Archinect
anchor

Raises......

outthere

I was wondering ...I have about 5 years experience... I started a medium sized corporate firm about 1.5 years ago and I was wondering ..What is the typical time span to ask for raises???

Every 2 years?

When you ask for a promotion?

When you have another project put on your lap?

When you have more responsibility?

When you get licensed?

I think I am pretty bad at the business side of things (asking for raises, discussing job growth, etc.) so I am curious to know what other peoples experiences have been.

Jan 15, 12 12:08 pm
sahar

I asked for a raise during my annual review. I was doing a good job. I was told by my reviewers I was doing a good job. I knew I was being paid less than my peers. They said no, but I don't think it count against me for asking. It can't hurt to ask. I wouldn't go in with I deserve it as your talking point (even if you do). I would try to point out how your role is important to the office, etc. It is not the greatest time, in terms of the economy, but I really the worst you can get is a no.

All of the questions you posed are good arguments for a raise. Working at an office for a while, getting positive reviews, getting licensed, getting a named promotion or a unnamed promotion (aka your duties changed).

Jan 16, 12 7:10 pm  · 
 · 

sahar (and the op): quite true - it never hurts to ask. the only thing i'll contribute, being the person who has to make the decisions, is that raises, like everything, are tied to the revenues of the firm overall, probably to a greater degree than what you (in particular) are doing. if revenues are up, and you're contributing to that success, you absolutely should get a raise.