Archinect
anchor

Architect moving to london

ahmad chouman

I am an architect planning to move to london with my wife. I have received an offer from a big firm, yet I haven't accepted it yet!

Can anyone tell me how much I need to pay the rent, move around town, live properly, pay taxes and save aound $1000 a month?

Feb 25, 06 5:03 am
lekizz

We still use £££'s in the UK ;-)

You will need a lot. A small one bedroom flat will be £700-800 per month. Council Tax (for your local services) is around £800 per year. I guess you utility bills will be around £100 per month. A bus travel card is £3.50 per day. Food and entertainment is up to you. Absolute rock bottom I would say about £250 per month for two people.

And then national taxes on your income is around 25% in total.

Feb 25, 06 8:40 am  · 
 · 
ahmad chouman

Thanks for the info lekizz... you were a great help

Feb 25, 06 10:05 am  · 
 · 
ahmad chouman

Any other feedback?

Feb 25, 06 10:05 am  · 
 · 
doberman

will your wife be working?? because that would make a massive difference. otherwise lekizz's got the lowdown pretty much right i think, although i would say the council tax is probably more around £1000 a year for a one-bedder. dont buy daily bus travel card, buy a weekly one for £13.50, it's easier and it works out cheaper.

Feb 25, 06 5:58 pm  · 
 · 
ahmad chouman

what is the best area to live in Lon don in be in close to everything, at the same time not pay so much! East, West, North or South. What is the average time consumed in commute.

Feb 26, 06 9:44 am  · 
 · 
Ludwig

ahmad the questions that your are asking are answered in countless threads in the forum. Just do a search for 'moving to London' etc.. and you will find plenty of information. Hope this helps.

Feb 26, 06 9:58 am  · 
 · 
vado retro
http://www.black-katz.com/city.htm